Peggy Holinga Katona

Peggy Holinga Katona
Lake County Treasurer

The Treasurer's Office collects, retains custody of, and disburses county funds. It collects various taxes including local and state property taxes, inheritance taxes, and delinquent taxes; and issues property tax statements.
Contact Us By Mail
Building 'A', 2nd Floor
2293 N. Main Street
Crown Point, IN 46307

Office Hours
Monday Thru Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Contact Us By Phone or Fax
Phone: 219-755-3760
Fax: 219-755-3776

Contact Us By E-Mail
Click to email Treasurer

Related Numbers
Name Phone Fax
Treasurer, Executive Director (219) 755-3760 219-755-3776
Peggy Holinga Katona
Peggy Holinga Katona
Title: Lake County Treasurer
Phone: 219-755-3760
Fax: 219-755-3776

Kathy Piekut
Title: Chief Deputy

News and Announcements
  04-20-2020 Lake County Property Taxes - Spring Installment Due on 05-11-2020 [read more...]

The Spring installment of Lake County Property Taxes due date is 5/11/2020. There is 60 day penalty free period for non-escrow taxpayers.

You may pay your property tax bill online by clicking the "read more..." link OR at the following banks: American Community Bank, Centier Bank, Demotte State Bank, Dyer Bank & Trust, First Financial Bank, First Merchants Bank, First Midwest Bank, Horizon Bank, Peoples Bank, and Tech Credit Union.


Governor Eric Holcomb issued Executive Order #20-005 (“E.O. #20-005”) on March 19, 2020. E.O. #20-005 Section 6(B) mandates that all counties waive penalties for delinquent non-escrow property taxes paid within sixty (60) days after May 11, 2020—the May installment due date. Additionally, E.O. #20-005 Section 13(C) directs the state to work with counties that experience cash flow problems because of the waived penalties. The Department of Local Government Finance ("Department") issues this memorandum to discuss these directives in E.O. #20-005.
Waiver of Penalties for Late Property Tax Payments  E.O. #20-005 states as follows in Section 6, Paragraph B:
"Property taxes remain due on May 11, 2020, however counties are to waive penalties on payments made after May 11, 2020, for a period of 60 days. This waiver does not apply to tax payments which have been escrowed by financial institutions on behalf of property taxpayers." 
Hence, each county shall waive any penalties for any property taxes paid within sixty (60) days after the statutory deadline; therefore, the spring installment may be paid up to and including July 10, 2020 without penalty. However, taxpayers are encouraged to make timely payments (that is, on or before May 11, 2020) in order to ensure orderly operations of government. 
Please note that this will not apply to property tax payments made through an escrow account or mortgage company. This waiver applies to property tax liabilities for both real and personal property.

Last updated: 07-11-2020 10:01 AM